Rainbow are releasing an expanded version of what is one of just a few albums featuring Ronnie James Dio on vocals, Rainbow Rising (or just, Rising). The 1976 album is legendary among fans for bringing together arguably the very finest line-up of Rainbow ever: with guitarist/founder Ritchie Blackmore and Ronnie James Dio at relative peaks in their careers, with one of rock’s most savage drummers, Cozy Powell, otherwise unknown bassist Jimmy Bain (a fine guy and really nice fellow in person) and keyboardist Tony Carey (who while also relatively unknown, provided some stunning keyboard work). The album brought forth classic Rainbow epics like “Stargazer,” Tarot Woman,” “Starstruck,” and “Light in the Black.” The reissue adds a lot of tantalizing extra stuff…

Rainbow Rising Deluxe Edition comes with multiple mixes and alternate recordings of all of the album’s original six songs, plus live tracks like “Man on the Silver Mountain,” from the band’s first album. The two-disc set will be released in the U.K. on February 28 and in North America on March 8.

Rainbow Rising Deluxe Edition tracklisting:

CD 1
1. Tarot Woman (New York mix)
2. Run with the Wolf (New York mix)
3. Starstruck (New York mix)
4. Do You Close Your Eyes (New York mix)
5.Stargazer (album version)
6. A Light in the Black (New York mix)
7. Tarot Woman (Los Angeles mix)
8. Run with the Wolf (Los Angeles mix)
9. Starstruck (Los Angeles mix)
10. Do You Close Your Eyes (Los Angeles mix)
11. Stargazer (Los Angeles mix)
12. A Light in the Black (Los Angeles mix)

CD 2
1. Tarot Woman (rough mix)
2. Run with the Wolf (rough mix)
3. Starstruck (rough mix)
4. Do You Close Your Eyes (rough mix)
5. Stargazer (rough mix)
6. Coming Home (“A Light in the Black” rough mix)
7. Stargazer (Pirate Sound tour rehearsal)
8. A Light in the Black (Pirate Sound tour rehearsal)
9. Man on the Silver Mountain (Pirate Sound tour rehearsal)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s